How to Bytemark

Groups

Groups are quite simply a collection of Cloud Servers. By default, each account contains a single group called ‘default’. New Cloud Servers will be added to that group unless you specify otherwise by creating a new group.

You can give other account users control of specific groups, in the case that you might not want them to have access to everything. This is preferable when you have many Cloud Servers and you do not want to assign users to servers on an individual server basis.

VLANs can also be arranged by groups. With assistance from Bytemark Support, each group of Cloud Servers can have their own private network. This will be reflected in the vlan_id field of the NIC assigned to the Cloud Server.

Naming

When you create a new Cloud Server, it will be created that looks similar to this example:

server1.default.snowbother.uk0.bigv.io

Whereas if you had created the server in the ‘shop’ group it would be:

server1.shop.snowbother.uk0.bigv.io

Bytemark Cloud used to be called "BigV"—nothing has changed except the name! We’re hiring! Please visit careers.bytemark.co.uk to find out more.