How to Bytemark

Reimaging your Legacy Virtual Machine

At any time, you may wish to reimage (reinstall) your machine. This action is irreversible and will mean that your machine will lose all data stored on it.

The end result of a reimage will be that your machine is running a pristine installation.

If there are local files upon your machine please ensure that you have them backed up prior to your reimage.

Getting Started

Once you’ve connected to your console shell you may begin the reimaging process by pressing Ctrl+p Ctrl+o to invoke the actions menu.

From the actions menu choose ‘Reimage your machine’ and you’ll be guided through the process.

Reimaging illustrated

Here is each step illustrated with an explanation:

Confirm Your Intention To Reimage

While there are further questions, you need to confirm that you understand your server will be wiped clean.

Confirm

Select Your Distribution

Pick whichever distribution you would like. If you’re not familiar with Linux you probably want the Bytemark Symbiosis distribution.

Choose Distro

Enter Your New Root Password

You will be asked to enter your root password twice so that you don’t accidentally mistype it and lock yourself out:

Root Password

Reimaging Begins

Finally the process begins:

Reinstalling

Once the process has completed, which will take approximately 5 minutes, your server will restart automatically.

Bytemark Cloud used to be called "BigV"—nothing has changed except the name! We’re hiring! Please visit careers.bytemark.co.uk to find out more.