Certifications & Accreditations

Bytemark believe in operating as a security-focused, transparent and ethical company.
We also believe in demonstrating this, not just saying it! Here is a list of the independently assessed certifications that we have received:

LivingWage Logo

Living Wage Accreditation

Bytemark are recognised as a Living Wage Employer. This demonstrates our commitment to treating all of our staff fairly and providing a positive working environment.

ISO Certified

ISO 27001

ISO 27001 is an international standard that is recognised globally for managing risks to the security of information. ISO 27001:2013 is the latest version. This standard specifies the requirements for an information security management system (ISMS).

The organisation must take a systematic approach to establish an ISMS appropriate for their industry, then implement, maintain and continually improve it. When information security risks are identified, the organisation must assess those risks and take appropriate action. The organisation must have regular internal and external audits to ensure their continued compliance to the standard, and to demonstrate continual improvement.

Our wholly owned York data centre and both of our offices (York & Manchester) are certified against the ISO 27001:2013 standard. Our Manchester data centre is covered by certification from the organisation we rent the space from.

As part of the iomart group, we also have access to a wide range of other security accreditations, including:

ISO 9001:2015

ISO 9001 is an internationally recognised standard demonstrating quality management. It signals that a company’s products/services are consistently improved to meet customers’ needs.

ISO 22301:2012

ISO 22301 provides a standardised framework companies can use to plan, establish, implement, operate, monitor, review, maintain and continually improve a business continuity management system (BCMS). Receiving this accreditation demonstrates that operational requirements are being met successfully.

ISO 20000:2011

ISO 2000 is a global standard for IT service management. It demonstrates that a company is fulfilling agreed service requirements. It covers the design, transition, delivery and improvement of services.

ISO 14001:2015

ISO 14001 serves as a global framework for auditing environmental performance. Accreditation demonstrates that a company is committed to effective waste management.

ISO 50001:2011

ISO 50001 is an accreditation for energy management systems (EMS). It validates that a company has met the specified requirements for establishing, implementing, maintaining and improving an EMS. This, in turn, demonstrates a commitment to improving energy efficiency.

Learn more about our company

Corporate Structure

Bytemark: a fair and transparent tech company

Read more


Helping open source projects grow with Bytemark services

Read more

About Us

At Bytemark, we are proud of our technical expertise and the clear manifesto that guides us.

Read more

Environmental Statement

Bytemark plans for the long-term, our approach to our environmental impact is no exception.

Read more